(Almost) Wordless Wednesday – Wakulla Springs

**This past weekend, I took my older two kids to ride the river boat at Wakulla Springs.  It is the place where the original “Creature From the Black Lagoon” and several of the Johnny Weismuller “Tarzan” movies were filmed.  It is a beautiful and peaceful setting right down the road from our home in Tallahassee and, although my daughter could only manage to tell the captain of the boat that the water stinks (which it doesn’t – she is weird) and wonder how long until she fell off the boat, my son and I loved exploring the beautiful, and somewhat scary, elements of nature that we saw on this visit.  I wanted to share them with you.  We don’t live in the “Everglades” part of Florida so some of these animals are pretty rare for us and for a lot of the United States too so I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!  Happy Wednesday!**

I know it might appear as though he is about to shove her off of the boat, but he was really just pointing out the cool stuff in the water.  It was pretty sweet.

I know it might appear as though he is about to shove her off of the boat, but he was really just pointing out the cool stuff in the water. It was a rare moment of sweetness.

A mama manatee and her baby

A mama manatee and her baby

6 little turtles all in a row

6 little turtles all in a row

a crazy big brown snake that apparently was not a water moccasin

a crazy big brown snake that apparently was not a water moccasin, but just as frightening as I did not zoom in on this picture.  we really were that close and that sucker is roaming the wild.

just one of the many alligators we saw

just one of the many alligators we saw

if you look closely behind this mama alligator, in between her and the shore, you can see that she is guarding two of her little babies (they are tiny and striped)

if you look closely behind this mama alligator, in between her and the shore, you can see that she is guarding a baby (it is tiny and striped so kind of looks like a snake in the picture)

a large anhinga

a large anhinga drying her wings

a white ibis

a white ibis

a rare blue heron

a rare blue heron

a bunch of old coots (I just liked the name of these - reminds me of something I would hear at a retirement home)

a bunch of old coots (I just liked the name of these – reminds me of something I would hear at a retirement home)

11 thoughts on “(Almost) Wordless Wednesday – Wakulla Springs

  1. Those are wonderful pictures and animals. Looks like a really good day….and he was so sweet showing her stuff. We really have to treasure those moments….they’re so rare. They usually bring tears to my eyes and I wonder if either one realizes how special that moment is. They are even more special now that mine are teenagers. Good job, Mom! 🙂

    • we really are! I am not the world’s biggest outdoor person but I love taking the boat ride and just watching the peacefulness of nature. Oddly, this place is just a few minutes away from the ocean which is what makes it surreal.

  2. Wow! That is really cool! I finally spotted the baby alligator! I actually went to the Everglades about 15 years ago! I love all the wildlife! It’s amazing that you got to see all of this away from the Everglades! That turtle pictures is so cute!

    • the captain said that the alligator had over 2 dozen babies, but was down to about 4 now due to the birds so she was guarding those little ones with a vengeance. And the turtles are always our favorite because they are so cute (and non-threatening!) 🙂

  3. Lovely photos – it looks like you guys had a great time! =)
    We see blue herons a lot here, at ponds and lakes.

    • They are so pretty up close aren’t they?! This trip was the first time we had ever seen so many large birds up close. Usually there are just tons of alligators and ducks and turtles. Although I went with my oldest when he was in Kindergarten and it was in the fall when all of the manatees were having babies and they were EVERYWHERE. I had never seen such a spectacular sight!

Leave a Reply

