I Tired Mommy

There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

As an exhausted mom, I enjoy hearing the phrase, “I tired, Mommy”.  Admitting they are tired is the first step to acceptance of a nap (and a leap toward some quiet time for mom!).

In addition to this lovely statement, there are also some subtle hints that each of my kids have given when they were still of the regular napping phase.  However, each kid had a different “tell”.

With my oldest, it was him climbing into my lap and insisting on holding my thumb.  Not sure why my thumb was comforting, but apparently it was.  And, no other finger would do; just the thumb.  He occasionally would accept a substitute thumb if mine was unavailable, but that was a rare occasion.

With my daughter (the middle child), it would involve her climbing into my lap, holding my pointer finger in one hand and twirling her hair with the other hand until her fingers got stuck in the tangles.  My mom said I used to do the same thing, so I always smiled when she did this as this is one of the few things she does that is actually reminiscent of myself. (Even though she looks just like my childhood pictures, her personality is much more like my sister)

With my youngest, it involves climbing into my lap and rubbing his belly button.  If I try to rub his belly for him, he will quickly correct me by grabbing my finger and pushing it directly into his belly button so that I know the “right” way to do it.  Again, not sure why he chose the belly button, but no other spot will do.

Each kid has/had a different way of soothing themselves and heading off to dream land, just as each has a very different personality.  However, there was one constant similarity in their routine and that was the fact that they climb(ed) into my lap to do these things.  I wish they would always climb into my lap for snuggles, though I know the window for these kinds of things is slowly closing for my older kids.

Until these moments are gone, however, I will take whatever quirky snuggle-time routines they throw my way and I will enjoy them and cherish them completely (especially as they nod off quietly).  And when the end finally does come, I will look back at this blog and remember fondly the times when they were sweet and adorable. 🙂

before they were too big for regular cuddles

before they were too big for regular cuddles – please don’t judge my appearance; I was very tired with a 2 month old and 19 month old

Did anyone else’s kids have a unique way of falling asleep when they were babies/toddlers?

11 thoughts on “I Tired Mommy

  1. Aww, that’s so cute that they all climbed into your lap!
    Maggie would go find her pacifier as a toddler. It was kept in her room for sleep only, so when I saw it in her mouth I knew what that meant. With Joshua it was at an exact time each night so I never really saw him showing he was ready. And with Samue,l he goes to the stairs (where there is a baby gate) and he starts yelling to me to come with him and pointing up. haha He also signs “milk” because I nurse him before sleep.

    • it’s always cute when they are tiny…and then, not so much! haha! My youngest has started pulling me over to the couch when he wants me to watch him do something and God help me if I try to get up before he is ready. It was cute the first few times too…..

  2. Oh Courtney! This is such a great post! That is amazing that each of them had their own special “comfort” and yet they were all strikingly similar! I was cracking up at the thumb holding! I have never heard of that! My kids don’t have anything like this! They all go from 100% power to crash and burn! There’s no in between stage! I’m clearly missing out on some sweet stuff!

  3. I miss those sweet toddler bedtime rituals! My dudes always wanted to snuggle and be rocked in the gliding chair. So sweet!! I wish I would’ve written it down, because I seem to forget those little amazing moments!

    • I had to write it down because I can barely remember what I did 10 minutes ago! haha! Luckily my kids were kind of weird so those specific memories still stick out a little. I wish I could have gotten my kids to rock with me. Sadly, none of mine wanted to rock, even when they were babies! (Like I said, they’re weird) 🙂

  4. Oh man do I miss those words. My 5, 8 and 11 year old are way past napping. The newborn still naps, but soon enough we will both be so tired and needing a nap and everyone else will be awake and running around.

Leave a Reply

