I Will Take Spring, But You Can Keep The Allergies

allergyVsFluThe weather is finally starting to warm up here in “sunny” Florida.  Not quite our real Spring weather (which is the low 80s) but warm enough to where you don’t need a jacket in the afternoon.  Along with this new weather has come a fresh new growth of flowers and trees and all things that spew pollen amongst us.

I have generally been immune to such issues, despite living in the pollen capitol of Florida (we have an overabundance of oak trees and magnolias and all kinds of beautiful nature-y things that are NOT palm trees).  However, this year has proven that I am not completely impervious to these things.

I am torn between the beauty of  nature and the pain that comes with blowing your nose 3 million times a day.

I am torn between the beauty of nature and the pain that comes with blowing your nose 3 million times a day.

After walking outside to take my kids to school early Friday morning, I found myself sneezing, popping the cough drops and using tissues galore.  It’s awful.  I look something like this:

I'm sure my husband has never found me sexier, especially as the tissues spill out of my pajama pockets

I’m sure my husband has never found me sexier, especially as the tissues spill out of my pajama pockets

I have seriously gone through about 3 boxes of tissues all by myself, and just yesterday I was forced to leave the ball park/play ground before my little ones were done because I could feel myself slowly dying near the monkey bars.

As a stay-at-home mom, I don’t really have time for this nonsense, nor do I have time to recover from it since I always have at least one kid with me at all times and they have no concept of “mommy just needs you to play quietly so my head doesn’t explode” time.  So, I have decided to suck it up and invest in one of these until the blooming is complete:

ingenious

ingenious

I am trying to keep up with my writing on here, but if I seem to disappear for a bit, it’s probably because I am refilling my roll of toilet paper or becoming a spokesperson for Claritin.

6 thoughts on “I Will Take Spring, But You Can Keep The Allergies

  1. Although I miraculously don’t suffer from seasonal allergies I absolutely know you do not have time for that nonsense! Last Wednesday I had a bout of the flu. While I was making dinner I kept having to turn it off every few minutes. There is nothing that makes you more nauseous than cooking hamburger when you are sick. After my 10th time in the bathroom both of my kids looked worried and said, “Mom you are still going to be able to volunteer in school tomorrow and go sell Girl Scout cookies at the cookie booth tomorrow…. right?” So as much as I just wanted to stay in bed on Thursday, I fulfilled my duties! There is just no time for resting around here!!! Hope those allergies pass soon!

    • we went through the flu not that long ago too! It just never ends! Hope you feel better. I can totally sympathize with having to do a bunch of things you don’t want to be doing while you are sick! Moms never get time off!

Leave a Reply

