This Is What Trouble Looks Like

I don’t know why, but Big Trouble’s newest fascination is dancing on the table.  Will he end up being a part of Magic Mike, part 2?  Is he just a thrill seeker looking for new ways to try to touch the light that hangs over the table? Or does he just enjoy making me get up every 10 seconds to pull him back down from the table?  Who knows?  My husband’s response is to “get rid of the chairs”.  But, as he is almost tall enough to just climb right up himself (and as we need chairs so that we can actually use the table for the purpose of eating meals), I’m fairly certain that won’t solve the problem.

I will admit that part of me laughs when he gets up there because he has a great time and you can see it in his face.

Caught in the act

Caught in the act

But I know it’s dangerous because he is a clutz, our table could potentially split open because it has a leaf that goes in the center and the kids occasionally mess with the clamp, and he just shouldn’t be putting his nasty socks all over our table anyway.  So, I continue to go over and pull him down, time after time.

He promptly sits down when he sees me coming and smiles his cutest smile.  How could mommy possibly be mad at this face?!

He promptly sits down when he sees me coming and smiles his cutest smile. How could mommy possibly be mad at this face?!

He knows he’s not supposed to do it, but he just can’t help himself.  So he marches on the table until I start walking over to him and then he sits down or starts to climb back down onto the chair as if that will make it all ok.

his other option when mommy comes storming over - again, notice the huge cheesy grin that he uses when he is being naughty.

his other option when mommy comes storming over – again, notice the huge cheesy grin that he uses when he is being naughty.  Also notice the chair scrapes on the wall caused by his many attempts at a quick escape.

But this mama is not fooled by the cute exterior and so I attempt to grab him and once again explain why we don’t dance on tables.  This morning, however, he struggled with me as I tried to pull him off and then sprawled out on the table as though it was a comfy hammock.  He was clearly too exhausted to be disciplined.

he couldn't possibly be bothered with getting off of the table

he couldn’t possibly be bothered with getting off of the table

So I was forced to stop taking pictures and practically climb on the table myself to pull him down.  Seriously.  I am hoping he grows out of this stage quickly before we do have to get rid of the chairs and resort to having picnics on our floor (though I am sure he could find a way to make that dangerous too).

Am I the only parent who has a kid with this fascination?  I guess I should be glad he hasn’t tried to “Superman” off of it yet, but I am assuming it’s only because I have been able to stay on top of the behavior thus far.  Big, Big Trouble!!! (but also cute trouble – if that’s not an oxymoron).

8 thoughts on “This Is What Trouble Looks Like

  1. I don’t know how you can discipline a smile like that! And yes, Cesar has been doing this since he was 12 months old when he learned how to climb. The other kids never did this! Seriously, these third kids are the worst!

  2. Thankfully not the dining table, but the coffee table, the couch, chairs, pretty much anything else is fair game. Seriously, I can’t take my kids anywhere for fear they will monkey up someones furniture. SMH! You are SO not alone. (and yes, for a time we banned them from even sitting on the furniture, but then #3 came along and its been downhill since)

Leave a Reply

