Heartbroken

heavenI spent most of Friday afternoon crying my eyes out.  I had been watching Sprout and kid shows on demand with my 2-year-old until my husband called me and told me what had happened at the elementary school in Connecticut.  I watched as President Obama addressed the country with tears in his eyes, God Bless Him.  I was shocked, saddened, scared; many other emotions welled up inside of me all at the same time.  My  mind immediately went to the two children I had at school.  They are 5 and 7, the same ages as all of those poor angels who were taken far too soon.  My heart ached for them and broke for the parents who wouldn’t see their children again.

I normally wait in the car pickup line when I get them from school as it is easier to wait in the car with a toddler, but there was no way that was going to happen Friday.  I packed up my youngest and we got to school 45 minutes early so that we could be waiting right outside of their buildings as they walked out.  I was not the only parent waiting early.  I heard some discussing the events that had transpired earlier in the day, while others were just waiting with tears in their eyes.  Being able to grab my kids and hug them tightly was the greatest gift I could have received that day, even if they looked at me as if I was crazy.

I started this blog as an outlet for the crazy and annoying things that my kids put me through because, in hindsight, a lot of it seems funny.  I do get overwhelmed and frustrated by my little munchkins, which is perfectly natural, but there is absolutely nothing that I wouldn’t do for them. I can only begin to imagine what the parents of the children who attended Sandy Hook Elementary are going through.  Every child and family there that day will forever be affected, even if they weren’t among those  who had lost someone close.  How horrible to have that brief window of childhood innocence taken from all of them so early.

My heart goes out to the entire community and also to every school and all of the teachers around our country.  The faculty members who gave their lives for their students are the epitome of heroes.  No doubt each and every other teacher who saw this story was rocked by the thought that it could have easily been them.

If we take nothing else from this tragedy, let’s be sure to remember to pray for and to thank the teachers who are instrumental in helping us raise our children and never, EVER forget to hug our babies (no matter how old they get, they will always be our babies) and remind them every day that they are loved.  May all of those sweet children and the brave teachers and instructors who died  saving countless other children rest in peace and may their families receive the comfort and privacy they need as they mourn.

6 thoughts on “Heartbroken

  1. Exactly all the same emotions I have been feeling. With our kids the same ages it really stuck a chord with me and possibly affected me even more than 9/11 because I could relate so much more. I didn’t want my kids to know about this so I didn’t tell them but my daughter heard about from her friends today so we just spent the last hour talking about…very difficult conversation. I told her about the address you posted on Mikey’s Place today and told her she could write letters to the kids so she’s busy doing that now.

  2. that’s so sweet that she is doing that. the girl who runs that site is only about 12 and she makes cards year round. It was definitely a hard conversation to have with the kids! Thankfully they weren’t scared to go back to school. I know I had a harder time letting them go yesterday though!

  3. Beautiful version of that poem. I felt much the same way you did on Friday, That evening my husband had a thought he shared with me and it helped. He said “I think that tonight millions of parents are telling their children how much they love them and holding them a little tighter.”

Leave a Reply

