This Year I Am Cheating

Happy Hanukkah

Happy Hanukkah

Saturday night is the first night of Hanukkah.  Our presents for 3 kids x 8 nights (talk about some major planning) are wrapped and ready to be presented.  The menorah is packed with candles.   Adam Sandler’s Hanukkah song is ready to be played (so tell your friend Veronica).  And, I shall be attempting to make homemade latkes again.  If you would like to reminisce with me about how I went about this last year (long story short: I was pretty stupid in my methods – in my defense, I am not Jewish nor am I that intelligent), you can check out the blog, ‘I Am A Shiksa Goddess’ which documents my Gentile “thoroughness”.

This year, I am taking the wise advice of a fellow blogger and using frozen hash browns as a base.  I think this is still technically making them from “scratch” since it is not a box mix, which is how I used to make them.  I have a large container of sour cream ready and I am going to fry those bad boys up to the best of my ability.  Luckily, my Jewish husband doesn’t have a discerning palate so he thinks they turn out no matter how I make them. (Whew) Let’s just hope my boys agree – I am leaving my extremely picky daughter out of the equation as she has already nixed the idea of eating anything that resembles hash browns – her Jewish ancestors would be ashamed of her lack of love for latkes (beat that teachers of alliteration), but she is convinced that she can only get on board with the chocolate gelt!  A sweet tooth apparently trumps heritage.

Santa shall once again be getting a few of my famous “homemade” cookies which are crafted from only the finest refrigerated cookie dough that I can find on sale close to Christmas.  And he will love them.

Happy Hanukkah to those that celebrate!  See the rest of you on Christmas! 🙂

4 thoughts on “This Year I Am Cheating

  1. GASP….refrigerated cookie dough, how dare you!!! Just kidding, just bought a tub myself yesterday and only one container of red sprinkles. That’s it and we are only making circles (I mean Christmas ornaments)! We are not doing a marathon of cookie decorating this year. Last year too many reindeer didn’t have legs and I was cleaning up frosting and sprinkles for weeks!

Leave a Reply

