Boyfriends and Girlfriends and True Love, OH MY!

Yesterday, as I picked up my kids from school, I noticed my 5-year-old daughter waving at someone in the pickup line.  As she got into the car, she promptly announced that she had a boyfriend and that’s who she was waving at as I picked her up.  Say what now?  I started to ask who this alleged boyfriend was when her brother, not to be outdone, declared that he too had found his “one true love.”  Not joking; those are the exact words he used; ONE TRUE LOVE.

My brain was in a whirl!  Why was my daughter seeking a boyfriend in kindergarten?  Where did my son learn the phrase, “one true love”?  Was I having a stroke?  I needed to get to the bottom of these issues.  I started with my daughter since  that’s where this mess began.

Who is your boyfriend? I “calmly” asked her. Obviously it’s Bryce, Mom! (she said as she rolled her eyes at my lack of important knowledge)  

Of course; Bryce; why didn’t I think of that?  Oh yeah, it’s because she’s only been in school 3 weeks!  Apparently that’s all the time it takes to fall in love.

So, did he ask you to be his girlfriend? I asked. No, I asked him to be my boyfriend and of course he said yes. 

Again, my bad.  Clearly she’s not lacking in the confidence department.  She then offered to introduce me that night at the conveniently timed school Open House.  I could barely contain my excitement.  (For the record, we did meet and he was totally whipped by my “enchanting” daughter who kept making him chase her around the yard until they opened the doors to the classrooms.  A fantastic beginning to a new relationship)

Then, I moved onto my 6 year-old son and his one true love.

So, who is your one true love and where did you hear that? Stay strong, Mama, I thought to myself while waiting for an answer. It’s Kimberly, she sits at my table and she said that’s what she was.  And you know what, Mom? She really is. 

Now I was starting to understand this picture.  The boys do what the girls say, totally helpless to withstand their feminine charms.

While the darker side of me clearly enjoyed entertaining this thought of women taking over the world one poor sap at a time, the mom side of me was still concerned that my kids were already thinking about these things in Kindergarten and 2nd grade!  Obviously they don’t really get what they are talking about and they are still innocent (THANK GOD) so it’s pretty funny, but seriously, if they start talking about these things this early, at what age does the innocence leave?!

I am soooooo not ready for that age yet so hopefully it will be years before I am thrown into the real arena of crazy adolescent love.  Until then, I will have to sit patiently by and watch as their “true loves” come and go….which they will (cut to today when my daughter came home and said that Bryce was no longer her boyfriend because she had her eye on someone else…..OH MY LORD….I really might be having that stroke after all)!

12 thoughts on “Boyfriends and Girlfriends and True Love, OH MY!

  1. Great post! The wife and I recently discovered that our thirteen-year-old had an actual girlfriend, which was no less nerve racking. If you have time check out my last blog entry for a little look into your future.

  2. It’s amazing how young they start with boyfriend/girlfriend stuff! I too have a 5 year old and he is all about the ladies these days. Golly gosh!

  3. Once again we are living the same life…kind of…there has been no boyfriends or girlfriends this year…yet. However when my daughter was in Kindergarten she had a boyfriend. He even invited her to Thanksgiving dinner with his family! His mom and I got such a kick out of this! Toward the end of the year I invited him for a play date and to stay for supper after school. As soon as he got to our house, he looked into Iris’s room, saw it was all princess stuff and started crying! He wanted to go home because he missed his Mom!!! He moved away the summer after Kindergarten so I guess they “broke up” but I don’t think it would have worked out anyway…her being into princess stuff and all!

Leave a Reply

