What Makes Me Happy!

My life is run by my 3 kids, and that’s a great thing because I adore my little squirts and they give me tons of writing material!  But, part of being able to deal with this crazy world of motherhood is allowing yourself little moments that don’t particularly revolve around your children.  So, in honor of the woman behind the mom, I’m starting a series of random posts (and hopefully some guest posts) on what other little things make moms smile.

This first moment of my happiness comes courtesy of my infatuation with Mr. Gene Kelly.

Pure Happiness!

I am a sucker for old movie musicals from the 40s and 50s, which I started watching with my mom when I was very young.  I have numerous favorites but none can match Singing in the Rain.  It was my first introduction to the wonderful world of Gene and as soon as I heard the first notes of the title song, I was hooked.  I now own the majority of his movies, both musical and non-musical; both popular and obscure.  When I’m having a bad day, I can pop in one of his movies and my heart immediately feels lighter.

To me, Gene Kelly embodied a simpler place in time when nothing was sexier than a man who could sing and dance his way into your heart.  Not only was he innovative with his AlterEgo dance , from Cover Girl, where he appears to dance beside himself, as well as in his dance with Jerry the Mouse, from Anchors Aweigh, but he also broke down racial barriers by insisting that his performance of ‘Be a Clown’, from The Pirate, be done with the Nicholas Brothers, resulting in one of the first times interracial dancing of any sort was allowed on screen.  Quite the inspiration.

Please enjoy those “Gene” moments, as well as a few of my personal favorites below which definitely make this mommy happy!  And then feel free to share what makes you happy (or contact me at doubledootydiapers@comcast.net if you would like to comment through a guest post – that would also make me happy!)

**Rate my blog on the Top Mommy Blogs Website!**

Leave a Reply

