If At First You Don’t Succeed, Buy Yourself A Glow-In-The-Dark Necklace And Try Again

Last weekend I decided to be daring and take my 2 older kids roller skating for the first time.  My son is 6 and my daughter is almost 5 so it seemed like the perfect time to try it out.  My husband thought I was insane to take both at the same time, seeing as though I haven’t been skating in over a decade and neither one of the kids had any idea about what roller skating was.  But, I like to live life on the edge and I am no stranger to embarrassment (in fact, it’s usually a daily occurrence in our household) so off we headed to Skate World.

The kids were very excited to do something new and we skipped through the parking lot into the large building.  We stepped up to the cashier and when she found out that it was the kids’ first time skating, she very sweetly told the kids how much fun they were going to have and only charged us 2 admission/skate fees as a little bonus (that equals a better time for mom knowing it was cheaper!).

We entered the skating area and the kids looked around in awe at the new adventure awaiting them on the rink, while I looked around and reminisced about the skating rink I went to when I was younger – for the record, skating rinks look exactly the same as they did in the 80s and I LOVE THAT!  We went to the rental area, got 3 pairs of skates and proceeded to go to a bench to put them on.  Being the old lady that I am, I forgot how long it actually takes to lace up skates (especially 3 pairs) and our first fall of the day happened when my sneaky daughter, whose laces were done first, attempted to escape without realizing that “running” was quite impossible.  She did not try to leave the lacing area alone again.

Ready to Roll...Literally

Once we all had our skates on, we stood up, held hands and VERY slowly made our way to the rink.  I just knew that at some point I would be pulled down with such force by one or both of my kids that I would break a hip, but God had mercy on me that day and I did not fall once! (If you know me, you know that this is truly a miracle since I tend to fall just walking).  My kids, on the other hand, were not so immune to the falling.  I am sure that we provided numerous people with great laughs that day because as soon as one started skating, the other would fall; I would help that one up and the other would fall.

This is the view I had for most of the day

We went through the back and forth falling, and occasional in-sync falling, for about 30 minutes and, God forgive me, I was laughing hysterically.  I knew I shouldn’t be laughing at my poor kids trying desperately to master the art of standing on wheels, but it was HILARIOUS.  The poor 12-year-old “referee” would literally clear a path for us each time we decided to go from the middle of the rink where the learning skaters were back to the carpet where the falling didn’t hurt as much so that we weren’t accidentally run over by the 90-year-old lady skating by with her great-great grandson.

After awhile we were able to manage skating for at least 30 seconds without falling, even if we did only make it 3 feet, and then came time to do the YMCA.  All the dj had to say was, “the loudest skater wins a glow-in-the-dark necklace” and my kids were in 100%.  Obviously, the judges were already aware of my kids because they had already set the record for most falls that day, so it was no surprise that they also took notice of how extremely loud my son could be while singing and dancing to win a contest.   He was the YMCA champ and got the coveted necklace.

It's fun to stay at the YMCA

My daughter was almost as enthusiastic, but deeply disheartened by the fact that she lost the screaming contest so we celebrated my son’s victory by purchasing a necklace for her so she could also skate in the dark.

skating is not complete without glowing in the dark

We decided to skate on the carpeted area around the rink during the glow in the dark songs and it was a lot less stressful (and I actually got to show off my mad skating skills on the floor beside them).

They finally got the moves

After 2 hours, we were all exhausted and a little bruised, but still happy.  As we started to make our way off the floor, the dj announced a Hokey-Pokey contest.  Well, we could not leave before that happened because, surprisingly, all of the YMCA screaming had not made them lose their voices yet and they were ready for another round!

That's what it's all about

All in all, it was a great trip and we can’t wait to do it again!  I am so proud of my kids for getting up after every fall with just a little wince!  Yet another life lesson learned: you gotta keep rolling! 🙂

One thought on “If At First You Don’t Succeed, Buy Yourself A Glow-In-The-Dark Necklace And Try Again

Leave a Reply

