The Soundtrack of My Life

Most of my posts are about my life as a mother because that’s basically all there is right now with three kids under the age of 6.  But, every so often, I am reminded of the girl I was before all the crazy mom times.  This week it was while I was reading another friend’s blog called “The Soundtrack of My Life” (yes, I totally stole this from her and I freely admit it). It seemed like I should create a soundtrack for myself for those days when I need to be reminded of how I became the fabulous  crazy  unique person that I am today!

So, for your amusement, I present: The Soundtrack of My Life! (no need to applaud):

  • Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – I was just a preschooler when this song came out, but it made me absolutely fall in love with the quirky Cyndi Lauper and 80’s music in general – still my favorite genre of music to this day.  There is no way you can hear this song and not smile, regardless of what is going on in your life at the time.
  • Angels – My mom, sister, and I were in a very serious car accident when I was 9 and we should have all died, but miraculously, my 2-year-old sister was completely unharmed, I just suffered a severely broken leg and my mom only lost one leg instead of her life.  Every time I hear this song by Amy Grant, I am reminded that every day there are angels watching over us, even when we don’t realize it.  I like to think that God gives the guardian angel jobs to our close loved ones that are already with him.
  • Singing in the Rain – My mom introduced me to old musicals in elementary school and I adore the 1940s/50s era movies, usually based on Broadway plays.  However, Gene Kelly was always my favorite because he reminded me of my Papaw and he seemed so down to earth. Singing in the Rain is the quintessential Gene Kelly movie and the particular scene where he sings the theme song never fails to brighten my day.  Perfection from a better time (Gene would later sing the song for the first dance at my wedding).
  • Tootsie Roll – Contrary to most other Southern people, I don’t like country music; weird, I know, but I prefer the “Dirty South” music because I love to dance and line dancing just doesn’t count.  Tootsie Roll was one of the first songs that I was brave enough to dance to at a chorus awards banquet in 9th grade.  I did it to the chant of “go white girl, go white girl” and it made me realize that I did actually have some rhythm.  That would not be the last time this little white girl danced (cue Scrub da Ground, a la my brief time in my high school pageant)!
  • Zombie – I adore any song by the Cranberries (they’re Irish and they yodel, what’s not to love?!) but this is my absolute favorite.  This should start showing you my eclectic side because clearly Zombie is the complete opposite of Tootsie Roll.  This was my “I need to scream and get some of my stress out” song during my anxiety-ridden teenage years and it was usually accompanied by Bullet with Butterfly Wings by the Smashing Pumpkins.  I guarantee that if you are having a bad day and need to get it out, a back-to-back play of these songs will do it!
  • Waiting to Exhale soundtrack – During my senior year in high school, I decided to take study hall for the first time.  Our “teacher” was one year out of college and therefore the coolest ever, so it was basically just time to sit and chat with my girlfriends.  We called it “group therapy” because we discussed everything that you could possibly think of as young teenage girls; boys, jobs, parents, life, the future, etc.  This soundtrack had all of the defining female anthems of the time, for both the good and the bad! (sidenote: You Can Count On Me from the soundtrack was especially important.  As I prepared to graduate from high school, I was given the opportunity to sing with two of my close friends at our baccalaureate program.  We harmonized beautifully together and this song expressed exactly what I was feeling at that moment.  I like to think that I am still dependable as a friend to this day).
  • I’m Every Woman – this would be the Whitney Houston version (not that the other versions aren’t good – this is just my favorite).  In college, I was not the party animal – SHOCKING, I know.  But, I had a goal – GET TO LAW SCHOOL.  Unlike most of my friends, I knew exactly what I wanted to do and nothing was going to get in my way.  I graduated in 3 years, while working full-time, and I was only 20.  This would sound more impressive if I currently had a high-powered job that didn’t include carpool duties, but it shows that I can achieve goals when I set my mind to it just like the definitive modern woman – I can do anything with a little help from Whitney! (She was also the poster child for staying away from crack – apparently, it is whack – who knew?; so thank you again, Whitney).
  • Watch Me Shine – this is a little known song, but it’s from the Legally Blond soundtrack.  As a woman getting ready to go to law school when the movie came out, it was only natural for me to flock to this (as well as other songs from the movie).  I played this on my way to take the LSAT and on my way to EVERY law school exam during my 3 years at FSU.  I wasn’t #1 in the class, but I graduated and my parents got to watch me shine!  It’s pretty inspirational!
  • Shake Ya Tailfeather by Nelly and Boom by P.O.D. – These songs need little explanation other than they always played them at the FSU home football games to get the crowd pumped and if I hear them now, it reminds me that I actually did have fun times while I was a student at FSU.  Go Noles!
  • It’s a She Thing – Salt N’ Pepa have always been officially awesome, but I discovered this particular song during my last semester in law school around the time I found out I was going to have a baby.  I am hardly a feminist, but I definitely learned that it was a little harder to be a woman in law school, trying to juggle many things that men never have to consider.  I needed to feel like I could rise above the whole “weaker sex” view that often pervades the legal field and my favorite lines in the song say, “Treat me like a sex-object, that ain’t smooth, underestimate the mind, oh yeah, you’re a fool; weaker sex, yeah, right, that’s the joke (ha!) Have you ever been in labor? I don’t think so, nope “!  After my epidural didn’t work with my 9 lb baby, this became even more applicable! 🙂
  • Everything Comes Down to Poo – For the last 6 years, my life has been consumed with everything associated with motherhood.  I have a few sweet songs that remind me of my children, including You Are My Sunshine, Isn’t She Lovely, by Stevie Wonder, and To Zion, by Lauren Hill, but mostly I feel like my world has been surrounded by diapers and potty training and wiping bums.  So, this particular song from the Scrubs episode, ‘My Musical,’ is totally appropriate and yet, disgustingly inappropriate at the same time!  It fits me perfectly!
I’m sure this was more than you ever hoped to know about me, but it was a nice stroll down amnesia lane for my old self.  Music is always therapeutic so go on and document the soundtrack of your life!
One thought on “The Soundtrack of My Life

Leave a Reply

