A Heart For Kids

I have always had a special place in my heart for children, but never more so than right now as a mother.  I complain like everyone and get frustrated with the craziness that is my life with three kids age 5 and under.  But, I know I am very blessed and very lucky.

As I have mentioned before, my son has started a charity for kids and one of our objectives is to raise awareness for other individual charities that don’t get much exposure.  We can’t always give money and gifts, but we can always give our prayers and pass on the word to others that might be able to help.

Over the past 2 weeks, I have been contacted by three families currently trying to raise money for a child, each afflicted by different critical illnesses.  Each time I read a new story, my eyes get teary and I have to thank God again for blessing me with three healthy babies.  I know that these children could easily be my kids and it breaks my heart to think of what these parents are going through.

Sometimes there isn’t anything we can do but pray, but I am a firm believer that prayer can work miracles.  I have seen it numerous times throughout my life and I can only pray that those miracles will be extended to the families with sick children.  For now, I am happy that I can help somehow by spreading the word about these brave children and their families, no matter how meager that contribution may seem.

If you have a heart for kids, please visit our charity’s blog, Mikey’s Helping Place, or visit our Facebook page, to learn more about these kids and our current projects.  Also, if you know a charity that needs more exposure, let me know.  We are trying to feature a new small charity each week and I want to keep this going!  My heart truly lies with kids and I want to help each one in whatever way I can!

Leave a Reply

