Oh, Sweet Slumber, How I Have Missed You

There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

When:  Somewhere between the hours of 9pm and 7:30am, EST.

Where: A tiny condo in Tallahassee, Florida.

Picture this, the sweet sound of silence, only interrupted by little murmurs and occasional snoring.  I lay in my bed, wide awake, though I should have been sleeping.  The baby and I had just had a “discussion” about bedtime and it took about 30 minutes for our arrangement to kick in.  However, he finally floated off to lullaby land and I finally laid my head down to rest, knowing that I had a tiny window of opportunity to catch some zzzs before my dear son would inevitably wake up, as he does numerous times on most nights. 

He should be sleeping well through the night at this point in his life, but he is a party animal and refuses to cooperate.  Such a rebel.  Surprisingly, this has still had absolutely no effect on his daytime mood.  He is the happiest little guy around.  Evidently even my haggardly, dawn-of-the-dead appearance from years of sleepless nights cannot damper his spirit.  I guess that’s what you call a silver lining.

Somewhere around the 10:00 hour I must have fallen asleep, and only at 3:30 did I hear a little stirring in the crib.  Wow, I thought!  I just got 5 1/2 hours of sleep, roughly double the amount I usually get.  This is fantastic.  Perhaps I can persuade little man to give me 10 more minutes before he decides that it is time to watch early morning re-runs of children’s shows, where my eyes will cross and I will lay in a fog of criminal thoughts, including the plotting of the “accidental death” of a certain purple dinosaur.

I hand over a small bottle of water and go back to bed, waiting for him to call me to return.  Apparently, Barney could sense that I was on the brink of disaster and wanted to maintain control of the situation so he must have come to entertain the baby in his dreams, because the next thing I know, it’s 7:30 and my dear husband is getting ready to leave for work. 

How could this possibly be?  What happened to my baby that wakes every hour after his first night waking?  He’s still slumbering in his crib.  And what of my 2 older children that think sleeping until 6:30 is considered “sleeping in”?!  WHAT?!  ALL 3 ARE STILL ASLEEP?!!!  I don’t want to move for fear that even the slightest tip toe will offset the wonderful event occurring in our house right now.

I manage to sneak out to the living room, where I was actually able to sit and read a book for 5 minutes before my dear daughter finally woke up, followed a few minutes later by my older son.  Dear little son would not wake up until 8:30!!!  Of course, my first instinct was to think, “oh no, something’s wrong with him!”  But, he was absolutely fine and woke up in a cheery mood, ready to play.

I am probably jinxing myself by writing down this glorious moment, but I wanted to make sure that I had a record of the one day in my life that this actually took place.  I promise I am not making it up, even though my future brain might think I imagined this all in a foggy, insomniac stupor. 

Please, dearest Lord above, let me never forget this day and remind me of it frequently when I start once again losing hope that I will ever have a full night’s sleep.  And, thank you, Lord, for knowing my breaking point, and delivering exactly what I needed, exactly when I needed it! And we all said, AMEN!

 

Leave a Reply

