So Proud of My Son!

A few months ago, my oldest son came to me and asked if he could start his own charity.  I was thrilled that he already understood the importance of helping others, something dear to my heart.  As such, we “founded” a charity called ‘Mikey’s Helping Place’ and we decided to organize a 2-week Read-a-thon where he could get sponsors to donate a certain amount of money for each book that he read. 

He has been reading since the age of 3 and really loves it so he set a goal for himself of 50 books!  I thought this number was a little high for a 5-year-old, but I encouraged him to try his best and he reached that goal. I quickly learned that he is not to be underestimated!  Needless to say, I was glowing with pride.  And, thanks to our very generous friends and family, he was able to raise much more than we ever hoped for! 

He chose the local Children’s Home to be the recipient of his earnings and we delivered the money in person to the director and his staff.  They recently featured him in their latest newsletter, as well as in a press release devoted solely to him!  He was so excited that he wanted to start another project immediately!

We’re still working on the details of that project, but if you would like to learn more about Mikey’s Helping Place and/or read the press release, please check out his blog at www.mikeyshelpingplace.wordpress.com.  I am so proud of him (and of my daughter who helped choose the next charity to raise money for).  Everyone should be so blessed!

2 thoughts on “So Proud of My Son!

  1. I was supposed to remind you at Julia’s bday party and I forgot – it’s my fault! It’s no big deal though, we appreciated the thought. If you want to “make it up”, just donate something small to the toy drive! 🙂

Leave a Reply

