Olympic Games, Mommy-Style

Go for the Gold!

I’m not going to lie; it’s hard being a stay-at-home mom.  Especially when you have more than one young child to entertain.  It is especially hard when you live in the South where 3/4 of the year it is so hot that you melt immediately upon attempting to leave the house.  If not for my creativity (and preschool days), I would have cracked a long time ago.  Preschool officially ended 2 weeks ago so I found myself wondering how in the world we were going to make it through this already miserable Summer?!  We have a limited budget for “field trip” type things and I can only handle all 3 outside for about 30 minutes before we are all ready to head back inside.  So….what to do?!

Luckily for me, a Hobby Lobby opened recently, so on the last day of preschool, I rushed over there with the baby and checked out the craft items on sale.  I made a few selections of random things so that I had supplies on hand for cheap daily crafts, but nothing was really special and I wondered how long these items would keep the older kids busy.  It was while I was walking toward the register that I stumbled across a pack of plastic gold medals and there, on aisle 12, I was inspired.  What if I could put together some sort of indoor olympic games using everyday items we already had at home?

I bought the medals and told the kids my idea that night.  They loved it, but asked me if we could somehow turn it into a scavenger hunt as well where they could find clues about the next “sport”?  I love that they worked together to come up with such a creative idea so, of course, I said yes.  That night, after the kids went to bed, I sat down and came up with a list of homemade versions of different olympic sports and then I wrote out the clues for each sport (in rhyme so it made it more fun).  They were so excited about the big day that they both woke up extra early (I was not so excited about that but I appreciate the enthusiasm), ate breakfast, and were ready to compete by 8am.  If only I had an ounce of that energy!

We started with a race to see who could get dressed first (that’s the mommy side of me coming out because they usually give me such grief when I try to pick out their clothes or get them to get dressed on my terms – I am so creatively sneaky now).  Much to my great delight, they both were so excited to comply and didn’t see through my ruse!  Then we had a variety of other sports such as laundry basket bobsled, shoe box hurdles, beanbag shot put, sprinting, long-distance running (I had them run in a lap around the living room a bunch of times – also the mommy coming out in me because this was toward the end and I was really trying to wear them out), rhythmic dancing, walking/exercising down the line of our tiled floor like it was a balance beam, and canned vegetable weightlifting.

Then came the medal ceremony where they each received their hard-earned medals with great pride.  Other than the $1.50 I spent on the bag of medals, this event was totally free and the kids loved every minute of it.  In fact, they were disappointed that I didn’t plan more.  This is definitely something that we will do more of in the future! I can’t wait to think of more sports (and to see how clever I can get with more rhymes).  Maybe next time we will have an opening ceremony where they will enter with their American Flags?  The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

