Just a Mother Reflecting….

Today I discovered that my 7 month-old baby was actually trying to communicate with me.  He has been babbling words like mama, dada, baba, etc., for months, but today he rolled over to me in his little walker and smiled his big cheesy grin; then he backed up and walked over to where his sister had left one of her stuffed animals and looked at it, then at me, then back at the toy, while saying, “hey, hey, hey” (though not in the Fat Albert kind of way, which would have been funnier).  I realized he was trying to tell me that he wanted the froggy so I picked it up and handed it to him as he clapped and smiled and I thought, “WOW! Babies are so much smarter than we give them credit for!”  I’m not sure why that moment seemed like such a big deal, but it did.  I really love how he checks out the world around him and is already starting to learn how to navigate through it (minus the whole sleeping thing, but don’t get me started on my precious angel and his ability to survive on 2.3 hours of sleep a day)! 

His facial expressions cannot be matched either! One of my favorite things to do is look at baby pictures (of my kids, my nephew, my friends’ children, or total strangers, doesn’t matter) and figure out how I could caption the photos based on the facial expressions of the babies.  They might not be able to talk yet, but you can totally tell what they are thinking based on their faces.  My little one is absolutely ‘captionable’ these days, but it makes it even cuter now that he is learning how to communicate his thoughts through his actions and some words/noises.

I will regret saying this in the future based on the years of experience with my older kids and how I know that learning to speak inevitably leads to learning to  back-talk and argue, but I can’t wait to have real conversations with him.  For now I will settle for captioning his thoughts myself while I continue the real conversations with the older two.  If he is anything like his brother and sister, he will be joining in the real conversations very soon!

One thought on “Just a Mother Reflecting….

Leave a Reply

