Teacher gifts, Part II

After we finished our art teacher gifts, we had to find something else simple and inexpensive to make for the classroom teachers.  So, back to the internet I went, where we found a fun gift that was pretty easy to “make” while still having a sentimental side.  So here you have it: the ‘Marvelous & Magnificent’ teacher box (or the ‘m&m’ teacher box).

top of our decorated box with poem

We purchased a huge bag of m&ms from Costco and several clear boxes (I think they are bead dividers of some sort) to put the m&ms in.  Then, I sat with my sanitary gloves on and separated each color into its own area within the box.  Here’s a fun fact: there are significantly less red m&ms than any other color in the pack!  Who knew?  The great thing about m&ms being involved in this project is that I got to eat the extras!  It took a lot of willpower, but I promise I made sure we had enough for each box before I started my snacking. 

inside the box

Once the m&ms were sorted, we added some cute m&ms-themed socks in the largest divided section, as well as some lifesavers to ward off chocolate breath.  Then we taped the box closed to protect the treasure.  ‘M’ decided he wanted to be more hands on with this project, so together we raided my scrapbooking supplies and picked out cardstock and other papers to use for the poem that accompanies the box.

It’s definitely not our most artistic endeavor, but who doesn’t love m&ms?!  We plan on wrapping the boxes in tulle and putting them in cute tote bags with a few small school supplies to finish the presentation.  I like that you can tell we put some effort into the gifts but they didn’t cause me nearly the stress of the other gift projects we have attempted recently.  Hooray for maintaining sanity while being crafty! 🙂

**Here’s the full poem in case you can’t read it in the picture:  Green is for the inspiration you give to me each day; Blue is for your patience in showing me the way; Orange is for your warmth and how you go the extra mile; Yellow is for the way you always make me smile; Red is for my life that you have touched this year; You’re such a special teacher and that’s so very clear. Thank you for being “Magnificent” and “Marvelous.”  You’re my very own “M&M”!

Leave a Reply

